Alexisonfire Have Announced The Details Of Their New Album ‘Otherness’, Their First In 13 Years


Bet you didn’t see this coming!

After releasing a handful of standalone tracks over the last few years, Alexisonfire have confirmed that they are releasing a brand new full-length album.  It will be their first since 2009’s ‘Old Crows / Young Cardinals’.

It’s called ‘Otherness’ and will be dropping on June 24 via Dine Alone Records. 

The band have issued a mission statement about what this record is:

“A continuous thread through the fabric of Alexisonfire is the state of otherness. Otherness drew us all to spaces where a band like this could be formed. We attract the type of individuals that have all felt the sensation of being strange or unique. Perceived or otherwise, otherness has followed us through childhood, adolescence, and into our adult lives. It drives our tastes and proclivities. It bonds us with ourselves and others. And make no mistake, even at our most domestic and mundane moments, we are true outliers.”

Wade MacNeil had this to say about its creation:

“The biggest difference is the space we are all in. We were all really thrilled to make a record, and it was such a respite from what was going on in the world. It felt like life could be beautiful. We were supportive of one another. Everyone was in such a good mood. It was such a treat to be able to do it again.”

And George Petit had this to add:

“As much as we love playing the old songs, we don’t want to be a nostalgia act. The only reason to come back is if we feel we still have something to say. We spent so much time on the road thinking that if we stopped, people would lose interest. But when we went away, it only got bigger. We all carved new paths for ourselves, so coming back to Alexisonfire is a purely enjoyable creative venture. Something special happens when we get in a room together.” 

The artwork for the record is going to look like this:

And the tracklisting like this:

01. Committed To The Con
02. Sweet Dreams Of Otherness
03. Sans Soleil
04. Conditional Love
05. Blue Spade
06. Dark Night Of The Soul
07. Mistaken Information
08. Survivor’s Guilt
09. Reverse The Curse
10. World Stops Turning

You can hear the first taste right now, ‘Sweet Dreams Of Otherness’, a groove-riddled, smoky number that bristles with both the smooth and rough parts of the band’s sound whilst still sounding like nothing they have shared before.

George had this to say about the track’s inception:

“This song was largely Dallas’ brain child but over the course of writing this record it became more of a mission statement for the band. It’s kind of about performance and embracing a new found confidence in a state of peculiarity.”

The band will, of course, also be headlining Slam Dunk Festival this Summer. 

Those dates look like this:


03 – LEEDS Temple Newsam
04 – HATFIELD Hatfield House

Link to the source article –

Related Articles