Drive-By Truckers Announce New LP ‘Welcome 2 Club XIII,’ Share Title Track


Drive-By Truckers have announced the release of their 14th studio album, Welcome 2 Club XIII, on June 3 via ATO Records. The Athens, Ga.-natives have also shared the title track and official music video for the new tune via their YouTube page. 

The band’s latest LP was produced by longtime collaborator David Barbe and was mainly recorded at his Georgia studio. Welcome 2 Club XIII was formed over three days last summer, without the intention of creating or releasing new music. Additionally, most tracks were cut in one or two takes.

The album sees vocal contributions from Margo Price, R.E.M.’s Mike Mills and Mississippi singer/songwriter Schaefer Llana, joining mainstays Patterson Hood, Mike Cooley, Jay Gonzalez, Matt Patton and Brad Morgan. 

The band’s latest release pays homage to founding members Hood and Cooley’s honky-tonk Muscle Shoals roots. On the title track, “Welcome 2 Club XIII,” the band’s unabashed lyrics poke fun at their long history as a group while simultaneously showcasing their highly developed instrumental abilities. 

Hood shared, “Cooley and I have been playing together for 37 years now.” He continued to say, “That first band might have failed miserably on a commercial level, but I’m really proud of what we did back then. It had a lot to do with who we ended up becoming.” 

Pre-order Welcome 2 Club XII here

Watch “Welcome 2 Club XIII” below. 

Welcome 2 Club XIII Tracking List: 

  1. The Driver
  2. Maria’s Awful Disclosures 
  3. Shake and Pine 
  4. We will never wake you up in the morning
  5. Welcome 2 Club XIII
  6. Forged In Hell and Heaven Sent 
  7. Every Single Storied Flameout
  8. Billy Ringo In The Dark 
  9. Wilder Days

Link to the source article –

Related Articles