Songwriters Hall of Fame Outline 2024 Nominees: Steely Dan, Tracy Chapman, R.E.M. and More


The Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF) has announced the artist nominees for the 2024 Gala in New York City. The list of musicians represents performing songwriters, those who write their own music, and non-performing songwriters, artists who compose lyrics for other acts.

Notable names on the performing songwriters’ list include famed “Fast Car” singer Tracy Chapman, as well as fellow favorites George Clinton and Steely Dan members Donald Fagan and Walter Becker. Also featured are Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills, and Michael Stipe of R.E.M. Members of Heart, Blondie, Doobie Brothers, Public Enemy, and more.

While the following didn’t perform the actual songs, they did write them, according to the press release, potential honoraries for non-performing songwriters are L. Russell Brown, Dean Dillon, Dennis Lambert and Brian Potter, Hillary Lindsey, Tony Macaulay, Timothy Mosler, otherwise known as Timbaland, Roger Nichols, Dean Pitchford, Maurice Starr, and Narada Michael Walden. 

“The Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates and honors the contributions of songwriters of all genres of music, educates the public with regard to their achievements and produces a spectrum of professional programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through songwriting craft forums, scholarships, digital initiatives, and Master Sessions on both coasts,” according to the official press release, outlining the intent behind the awards.

The complete list of SHOF’s 2024 nominees are listed below, and also available online at


Bryan Adams 

Randy Bachman & Burton Cummings

Debbie Harry, Chris Stein & Clem Burke p/k/a Blondie 

Tracy Chapman

George Clinton

Tom Johnston, Patrick Simmons & Michael McDonald p/k/a Doobie Brothers

David Gates 

Ann Wilson & Nancy Wilson p/k/a Heart

Kenny Loggins 

Carlton Douglas Ridenhour p/k/a Chuck D, William Jonathan Drayton p/k/a Flavor Flav, p/k/a Public Enemy

Bill Berry, Peter Buck, Mike Mills & Michael Stipe, p/k/a R.E.M. 

Donald Fagan & Walter Becker (d) p/k/a Steely Dan


L. Russell Brown

Dean Dillon

Dennis Lambert & Brian Potter 

Hillary Lindsey

Tony Macaulay

Timothy Mosley p/k/a Timbaland 

Roger Nichols  

Dean Pitchford

Maurice Starr 

Narada Michael Walden

Link to the source article –

Related Articles